OKC!

welcome

Another weekend, another road trip – My bestie Hailey had twin boys a month and a day before Bonnie was born. Going through pregnancy with your best friend is super fun. Having babies that are a month apart is super fun. Living 5 hours away from your best friend is not super fun. Especially when they have babies and you can’t see them until they’re 10 weeks old because you’re too pregnant and then your baby is too little. So even though we had just been to Garden City the week before, I couldn’t stand to wait another week to meet Eli and Wade and finally get some best friend time.

Bonnie, Wade and Eli. Seriously cute.
Bonnie, Wade and Eli. Seriously cute.
Already causing mischief.
Already causing mischief.

Another great thing about having babies at the same time as your best friend is that you don’t have to bring any of your baby accessories when you go to visit.  Especially if your best friend has twins. Hailey set up a changing table for us in our bathroom, and a bassinet for Bonnie right by our bed. Their living room is basically a Babies R Us outlet, so all we had to bring were diapers for the car and some clothes. It was luxurious.

Hailey set us up a changing table - with diapers and wipes and burp cloths! So spoiled.
Hailey set us up a changing table – with diapers and wipes and burp cloths! So spoiled.
Bonnie was immediately at home in the new bassinet.
Bonnie was immediately at home in the new bassinet.
We don't exactly travel light these days.
Taking the boys to their first Mexican restaurant!

Considering we had three babies under three months old, there could have been a great deal of crying all around.  Luckily, the babies were on their best behavior so their parents had a great time catching up. We ate food and fed babies, watched college football preview shows and talked about babies, learned the Nae Nae and took pictures of babies.  The kiddos were so good that we braved the Saturday night dinner crowd and took the boys to their first Mexican restaurant.  We were quite a scene.  On Sunday, we left the babies with the Dads and ran off to do some shopping. At Babies R Us. For pump accessories.  My, how things have changed.

Another great thing about visiting friends with babies is that they don’t mind a bit when your baby has a massive blowout all over their furniture/throw pillows/bathroom sink/hallway. Steven was tracking down errant poop for at least an hour, but I blissfully missed all of it, because it happened while I was in the shower.  Bonnie is so thoughtful. Hailey quickly threw everything in the washer (including Steven’s sock, which had somehow ended up in the carnage) and so we had clean, stink-free clothes by the time we got on the road. Seriously, best friends ever.

Ah, the joy of new toys!
Ah, the joy of new toys!
Sunday snooze with Dad.
Sunday snooze with Dad.

It was so nice to get out of town and have a weekend with friends. I was sad to leave and Hailey and I agreed that it would’ve been much more fun if we could spend our maternity leaves together. Maternity leave is great, and I am oh so heartbroken about it ending, but it does get lonely. Mad props to the many Stay at Home Mamas out there. It’s a lonely gig being the only adult in the house.

Best friends make the best babies.
Best friends make the best babies.

Name game – Hailey got me a necklace for my birthday with Bonnie’s name on it. Real talk – it totally made me cry. What is it about having something with your kid’s name on it? I definitely didn’t see it coming but every time I put it on – complete waterworks.

There are no pictures of Bonnie holding still when the bottle was involved.
There are no pictures of Bonnie holding still when the bottle was involved.

Bonnie’s first bottle – We finally started the great bottle transition this week and so far it is not going well. Could you say a prayer for us? I’m in full-on stressed out Mama mode about it, to the point where I’m convinced that she’ll be kicked out of day care because she won’t eat and will make everyone else miserable. It’s all crazy thoughts up in here. It doesn’t help that I went to the internet for advice and the first article I read was by a lactation consultant who had to quit her job because her baby wouldn’t take a bottle. Seriously, the internet is terrible and I will never learn. So say a prayer that we find the right thing on our own, because I feel under siege with advice and suggestions about bottles, nipples, temperatures, stinky t-shirts, being in the house, being out of the house, letting Dad feed, letting Mom feed, feeding half and half, adding sugar, adding formula, changing the hold, changing the room, changing the lighting, changing the baby and of course, above all, BE CONSISTENT (how?!) and START 6 WEEKS AGO.  So unhelpful. So stressed. Need divine intervention to calm the heck down.

I'm the tiny tyrant?!?
I’m the tiny tyrant?!?

Tiny Tyrant – Adding to the pressure and the stress (or maybe because of the pressure and stress?) Bonnie stopped taking her usual 2-3 hour morning and afternoon nap last week.  Hence, the extreme lateness of this blog post. For the first part of the week she would take a 20 minute nap, fuss for 2 hours and then finally fall asleep in my arms, 20 minutes before she was scheduled to eat again. Argh. By Thursday we got back up to a 1 hour nap, 3 times a day, with extreme fussiness in the evenings. I don’t mind the extra snuggles, especially because I start back to work with Bonnie part-time tomorrow.  However, I’m supposed to be working those part-time hours from home, with Bonnie, so I was really counting on those nice long naps. The big positive of course, is that she has slept through the night consistently for the past 10 days, so I’m not hurting for sleep.  She’s even started taking an extra long nap after her first feeding in the morning, so maybe I’ll just get my 4 hours a day in from 6-10 every morning? I suppose there are worse schedules.

She sleeps!
She sleeps!

Miles of Smiles – The benefit to all this extra awake time has been lots and lots of smiles. My favorite smiles are first thing in the morning when she’s fussing in her bed to eat.  She’ll fuss and I’ll pop my head over the side of her bassinet and her whole face lights up when she recognizes me. It’s the perfect way to start the day. She has such a funny smile – she’s always sticking out her tongue and giving me these big crinkly eyes. It’s like she’s telling her first joke, or making her first silly face. I like to think that she’s just trying to make me laugh too. Such a giver, that one. She also loves being on her changing table and will smile and coo and even start to give just the faintest sign of a chuckle or a laugh when she’s really alert. I can’t wait to hear what her laugh sounds like. So many things still to discover about our sweet girl!

Love that goofy grin.
Love that goofy grin.

You Married It – In the past couple of years, whenever Steven and I get into an argument about our character defects, we’ve started telling the other person, “Yeah, well, you married it!” Case in point: my obsession with college football. As some of you know, we dropped our cable subscription in April to save some money so that we could spoil Bonnie properly. So far, I haven’t missed it, and when we’re somewhere with access to cable, I can rarely find something worth watching. It’s been a very easy sacrifice… until now. The College Football season started on Thursday, and I’ve been jonesin’ for ESPN something fierce. To ease the separation anxiety, Steven took me out for a college football date night on the first night of the season. We went to Powercat and ate tons of food and watched 6 games at once and I was in heaven. Since then, I’ve been pouting loudly (and obnoxiously) about missing Game Day and late night Pac 12 games until Steven gives in and tries to order it for me and I stop him because it’s too expensive. Bonnie may be the tiny tyrant in the house, but so far this Mama has been driving everyone crazy with her ESPN withdrawal. Pray for us footballers, now and at the hour of our death, amen.

But still, he had to expect it, right? It’s not like it’s a new personality trait. After all, he did marry it.

gamedaywedding

3 thoughts on “OKC!”

  1. I had to reset my wordpress password and come up with a whole new dumb thing that is secure enough for them and it made me cranky but now I can comment again! These babies are so cute! Are you uploading all of the pictures to our mutual walmart so I can get them? I hope you hugged and kissed all of the babies for me. An excessive number of times.

Leave a Reply

