Halloween

This was my first major holiday as a Mama. Holidays kind of stress me out in general because there are expectations and expectations make me a little crazy. I’m much more content to wing it and have a surprisingly good time. For example, I hate getting dressed up because then you’re supposed to look nice. But when you’re having a regular ol day, and you happen to look in the mirror at the end of a Tuesday and notice with surprise – hey, look! A good hair day! That’s the sweet spot. So I was kind of dreading Bonnie’s first Halloween. Which I totally shouldn’t have because she’s not even 4 months old and super doesn’t care. So alas, all the expectations and stress were totally my own creation and my own fault.

Pumpkin party!
Pumpkin party!
I let Bonnie hang out somewhat outside the fray.
I let Bonnie hang out somewhat outside the fray.

Even with all that, we managed to have a pretty good day. We went down to Garden City to celebrate with family and had a great time carving pumpkins on Dad’s porch. It’s become kind of a tradition and we were excited to make it in the big group picture this year. Bonnie happily had tummy time on the porch next to Steven while he carved Van Gogh’s Starry Night in our pumpkin. Such an overachiever, that one. Bonnie didn’t mind all the screaming and getting stepped on and loved on and was generally content to be on the edge of the action. I was thrilled to sit outside and not have to touch pumpkin guts. I think I was in elementary school the last time I carved a pumpkin and still have no desire to do it again.

Teddy was in the middle of everything. Hard to believe this will be Bonnie next year.
Teddy was in the middle of everything. Hard to believe this will be Bonnie next year.
Steven's Van Gogh pumpkin.
Steven’s Van Gogh pumpkin.

Bonnie had so much (too much) fun during the day with her cousins and Poppa Ted that she skipped her morning and afternoon nap. So by early evening when it was time to pick a costume and take the requisite facebook pictures, she was pretty much over it. We had three hand-me-down costumes, two stressed out parents, one overtired 3 month old and a house full of toddlers ready for candy. Twas a toxic mix. We ended up taking a few pictures in the Eeyore costume, trick or treating in the bear costume and abandoning the cow costume altogether. Initially we thought about cheating and trying to take pictures in her costumes on Sunday, but she was still pretty wary of us on Sunday.

I think my favorite part of this costume is the label on the front. Also the removable tail.
I think my favorite part of this costume is the label on the front. Also the removable tail.
Blurry cuteness.
Blurry cuteness.
Before looking back at the pictures for this blog, I really thought all the pictures would look like this.
Before looking back at the pictures for this blog, I really thought all the pictures would look like this.

Lessons learned:

1. Trick or treating with a sleeping infant feels weird and a little wrong – she’s clearly not going to eat the candy and she hates the costume. Who are we doing this for again?
2. Halloween pictures should either be taken first thing in the morning or in the days before or after the holiday. No sense in trying to do everything on the day.
3. Surprise fun is still better than planned fun.
4. Never skip nap time.

Is this how every first-time Mama looks on Halloween? I hope so.
Is this how every first-time Mama looks on Halloween? I hope so.

Sorry, Bonnie. We’ll do better next year? Or next holiday? Surely there will be less pressure on Thanksgiving. Though Betsy did already give me her “Baby’s First Thanksgiving” bib. Gulp.

Leave a Reply

